Ditch Disposable Batteries With a USB-C Rechargeable Headlamp

Ditch Disposable Batteries With a USB-C Rechargeable Headlamp
This post includes affiliate links, for which we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase using our links. As an Amazon Associate, we can earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

A USB-C rechargeable headlamp charges from the same cable and wall charger you already use for a phone or laptop, so a running vest, a tent pocket, a toolbox, and a car emergency kit can all draw from one charging setup instead of a drawer full of AAAs. The ten headlamps below all state USB-C or Type-C charging on their own listing, and each is built around a different job: a light band for a night run, a spot and red light for camp, a focusing beam for work, or a backup power source for an outage.

Match the headlamp to the job first, then check the runtime at the mode you will actually use, since a big lumen number on the box says little about how long the light lasts once you turn it down to something you can use for hours.

Every headlamp here recharges from the USB-C cable you already use for your phone, so disposable batteries stop being part of the plan.

USB-C Rechargeable Headlamps Compared

ImageProductDetailsCheck Price
Nitecore HC65 UHE on Amazon
Nitecore HC65 UHEMax output: 2000 lumens
Beam distance: 243 yards
Longest stated runtime: 82 h
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IP68
Check Price on Amazon
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 on Amazon
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0Max output: 1600 lumens
Beam distance: 185 yards
Longest stated runtime: Over 600 h
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IP68
Check Price on Amazon
BioLite Range 500 on Amazon
BioLite Range 500Max output: 500 lumens
Beam distance: 100 meters
Longest stated runtime: 200 h LO
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IP67
Check Price on Amazon
Nitecore NU20 Classic on Amazon
Nitecore NU20 ClassicMax output: 360 lumens
Beam distance: 119 yards
Longest stated runtime: 97 h low
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IP66
Check Price on Amazon
Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro on Amazon
Nitecore UT27 MCT ProMax output: 800 lumens
Beam distance: 183 yards
Longest stated runtime: Not stated
Power: USB-C battery pack or 3 x AAA
Water rating: IP66
Check Price on Amazon
Coast XPH30R on Amazon
Coast XPH30RMax output: 1200 lumens
Beam distance: Not stated
Longest stated runtime: 28 h low
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IP54
Check Price on Amazon
Nitecore HC75 UHE on Amazon
Nitecore HC75 UHEMax output: 3000 lumens
Beam distance: 209 yards
Longest stated runtime: Not stated
Power: USB-C
Water rating: Not stated
Check Price on Amazon
NEBO Transcend 3K on Amazon
NEBO Transcend 3KMax output: 3000 lm (30 s turbo)
Beam distance: 223 meters
Longest stated runtime: 45 h low
Power: USB-C, 4000 mAh
Water rating: IPX7
Check Price on Amazon
KYEKIO 3-Pack on Amazon
KYEKIO 3-PackMax output: Not stated
Beam distance: Nearly 300 feet
Longest stated runtime: 2.5 to 8 h
Power: USB-C
Water rating: Not stated
Check Price on Amazon
Blukar Zoom Headlamp on Amazon
Blukar Zoom HeadlampMax output: Not stated
Beam distance: Not stated
Longest stated runtime: Not stated
Power: USB-C
Water rating: IPX6
Check Price on Amazon

1. Nitecore HC65 UHE — Best Overall for Camping and Hiking

A hike that turns into a camp chore and then a night of reading in the tent needs more than one kind of beam, and the HC65 UHE is built around that shift. Nitecore’s stated figures put the main beam at 2000 lumens with a 243-yard throw, and it pairs that spot with a soft reading light at two low levels plus a red light that keeps everyone’s eyes adjusted to the dark once the sun goes down.

Charging and Durability

The headlamp charges through a built-in waterproof USB-C port. Nitecore’s spec sheet gives a 2-hour recharge and a runtime of up to 82 hours, though the mode behind that 82-hour figure isn’t named. The body is aero-grade aluminum with a hard-anodized finish, rated IP68 for full submersion and impact resistant to 2 meters, and the box holds the headlamp, a USB-C cable, a headband, and a storage case. Amazon’s product details put it at 0.34 lb.

Our Take Choose the HC65 UHE as the one headlamp for a trip that moves between the trail, camp chores, and tent reading. Check the mode behind the 82-hour runtime with Nitecore directly if a multi-night trip depends on that exact figure.

PROS
  • A white spot, a two-level reading light, and a red light on one headlamp.
  • A 2-hour recharge through a waterproof USB-C port and up to 82 hours of runtime.
  • IP68 sealing and 2-meter impact resistance on an aluminum body.
CONS
  • Nitecore doesn’t say which mode the 82-hour runtime belongs to.
  • The reading light is a soft, low-brightness beam, not a second spot.

2. Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — Best for Trail Running

A headlamp that slides around on a bouncing run is worse than a dim one, so Fenix built the HM65R-T V2.0 around the band first. The listing describes a wide, reflective headband with a two-way SPORT fit fastener you can tighten with one hand mid-stride, on a magnesium alloy frame Fenix calls 30 percent lighter than aluminum. Amazon’s product details put it at 0.31 lb.

Beam and Runtime

Fenix rates the beam at 1600 lumens with a throw up to 185 yards, and pairs a white beam with a warm white beam that Fenix says cuts eye strain in fog and rain, a distinct beam from a single white light bouncing back off mist. The runtime figure tops 600 hours, the longest stated runtime of any headlamp on this page, though the listing doesn’t say which mode that spans, and it gives no charge time either. Fenix also states an IP68 rating and 2-meter impact resistance.

Our Take Choose the HM65R-T V2.0 when the run itself is the point, not the camp afterward. Add a light with a red mode, such as the HC65 UHE above, if a camp stop is part of the same trip.

PROS
  • A reflective headband with a one-hand SPORT fit fastener.
  • A warm white beam alongside the main white beam for fog and rain.
  • The longest stated runtime here, over 600 hours, on a magnesium alloy frame rated IP68.
CONS
  • No red light mode on this headlamp.
  • Fenix names no mode for the over-600-hour runtime and gives no charge time.

3. BioLite Range 500 — Best Fast-Charging Headlamp

A headlamp that sits uncharged until the evening you need it is a different problem than a dim beam, and BioLite built the Range 500 around fixing that one habit. Its charging figures put 0 to 80 percent at 30 minutes over USB-C, and BioLite says 8 minutes on the cable adds an hour of light.

BioLite rates the beam at 500 lumens with a 100-meter throw, and quotes 200 hours of runtime on its lowest mode against 6 hours on the highest, sealed to IP67 for a downpour or a full submersion. The trade for that quick-charge focus is a single fixed beam. BioLite names no spot, flood, or red mode, and gives no time for a full charge, only the 0-to-80-percent figure. Amazon’s product details put it at 0.24 lb.

Pick the Range 500 for a last-minute charge before you head out, not for a red light at camp.

Our Take The Range 500 suits a runner or hiker who charges at the last minute, since BioLite states a quick partial charge and runtimes for both ends of its dial. Choose a headlamp with a stated red light if keeping your night vision at camp counts for more than charge speed.

PROS
  • 0 to 80 percent in 30 minutes over USB-C, and an hour of light from 8 minutes of charging.
  • Runtimes of 200 hours on low and 6 hours on high.
  • IP67 protection against downpours and submersion.
CONS
  • No red light, and no spot or flood mode.
  • No time given for a full charge.

4. Nitecore NU20 Classic — Best Ultralight Headlamp

Every ounce on your head shows up on a long run or a thru-hike, and the NU20 Classic is built to disappear on the band. Nitecore’s spec sheet puts it at 1.34 oz, lighter than any other individually stated weight in this lineup, and still fits a main white LED with three brightness levels, a reading light, and a red light onto that small a body.

Nitecore quotes up to 97 hours of runtime on low mode, with a recharge just over an hour via USB-C and a battery indicator showing the remaining charge. The PC body is rated IP66 and 1-meter impact resistant, a lower rating than the IP68 the HC65 UHE above carries. The box includes the headlamp, a headband, a USB-C cable, and a sticker.

Pack a spare battery bank anyway. Nitecore doesn’t say if the NU20 Classic’s own cell can be swapped out in the field.

Our Take Choose the NU20 Classic for a thru-hike or a light overnight pack, where a low weight, a red light, and a quick recharge matter more than raw output. Pick a headlamp with a higher stated output for work or for scanning a trail far ahead.

PROS
  • The lightest stated weight here, 1.34 oz, with up to 97 hours on low mode.
  • A USB-C recharge of just over an hour with a battery indicator.
  • A reading light and a red light alongside the main white LED.
CONS
  • IP66 sealing, lower than the IP68 the HC65 UHE and HM65R-T V2.0 both carry.
  • Nitecore doesn’t say whether the battery can be swapped.

5. Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro — Best for Emergency Kits

An outage doesn’t wait for a wall outlet, and the UT27 MCT Pro is the one headlamp here built with a second way to run. The box includes two USB-C rechargeable HLB1500 battery packs, and the headlamp also supports 3 x AAA batteries once both packs are flat.

Light and Power

Nitecore rates the beam at 800 lumens with a 183-yard throw across three color temperatures, a 3000K warm light for rain, fog, and snow, a 4500K neutral white, and a 6500K cool white, plus a red light that runs steady or flashing. The HLB1500 pack is the USB-C rechargeable part, and the listing doesn’t describe a USB-C port on the lamp body itself. Nitecore’s stated weight is 2.61 oz with headband and battery, on a body rated IP66 with 1-meter impact resistance and a sweat-diverting strap.

Nitecore doesn’t say AAA batteries are included, so pack three yourself before you count on the backup power working.

Our Take Choose the UT27 MCT Pro for a go-bag, a glove box, or a long trip, where a spare pack and a AAA backup keep the light running without a wall outlet. This is the only headlamp on this page whose feature text describes swappable power.

PROS
  • Two USB-C rechargeable HLB1500 battery packs plus support for 3 x AAA batteries.
  • Warm, neutral, and cool white light plus a steady or flashing red light.
  • 2.61 oz with headband and battery, and an IP66 rating.
CONS
  • No runtime and no charge time given.
  • AAA batteries are not confirmed to come in the box.

6. Coast XPH30R — Best Twist-Focus Headlamp

Some jobs need a headlamp for hands-free work and a flashlight for aiming at one thing, and the XPH30R is built to be both. Coast says the body detaches from the head strap and mounting bracket to become a handheld light with its own magnetic base. The NEBO Transcend 3K further down this page also detaches into a handheld light with a magnetic base, though Coast adds a twist-focus ring that NEBO doesn’t have, and NEBO adds hard hat clips that Coast doesn’t.

The twist-focus ring moves the beam between a wide flood and a long, narrow throw without a halo at the edge. Coast states output and runtime together for three of its four modes, 500 lumens for 6.75 hours on high, 160 lumens for 10 hours on medium, and 46 lumens for 28 hours on low. Turbo rates 1200 lumens, but Coast gives no runtime for it. The title states USB-C rechargeable and 4.37 oz, and the body carries an IP54 rating and a lifetime warranty against defects.

Our Take Choose the XPH30R when you want one light for your head and your hand, and when a runtime for each mode helps you plan a shift. IP54 is a water-resistance rating, weaker than several others here, so pick a headlamp with a higher stated rating for heavy rain or a canoe.

PROS
  • Output and runtime stated for high, medium, and low, plus output for turbo.
  • Detaches into a handheld light with its own magnetic base.
  • A lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.
CONS
  • IP54 is a water-resistance rating, not a submersion rating.
  • No red light, no beam distance, and no charge time given.

7. Nitecore HC75 UHE — Best Zoom Work Headlamp

Rugged terrain, industrial maintenance, and construction each need a different beam width, and the HC75 UHE handles that with one dial instead of a mode button. Nitecore’s stated figures put the beam at up to 3000 lumens with a 209-yard throw, and a stepless E-focus ring adjusts from a wide floodlight to a focused spotlight, or a mixed setting between the two.

The headlamp gives five white light levels and two red light modes, with two buttons for direct access to Ultra High, Low, or Red. An integrated waterproof USB-C port charges it in just over 2 hours, and a lockout mode guards against accidental activation. The box holds the headlamp, a USB-C to USB-C cable, a headband, and a storage case. Amazon’s product details put it at 0.46 lb.

Our Take Choose the HC75 UHE for maintenance work, hunting, or jobsite tasks that switch between a wide beam up close and a narrow beam far off. Ask Nitecore for a runtime and a water rating before relying on it for a long shift in the rain, since neither is stated.

PROS
  • A stepless E-focus from floodlight to spotlight, plus a mixed mode.
  • Five white levels, two red modes, and direct access to Ultra High, Low, or Red.
  • A waterproof USB-C port with a charge of just over 2 hours.
CONS
  • No runtime given for any mode.
  • No IP rating, only a waterproof USB-C port.

8. NEBO Transcend 3K — Best for Hard Hats

A shift under a hard hat needs a light that clips on, comes off when you need it in your hand, and tells you how long each setting lasts, and NEBO built the Transcend 3K around all three. It includes 4 hard hat clips plus an adjustable headband and an optional top strap, and it detaches from its mount for handheld use, with a magnetic base and 180-degree adjustable tilt.

NEBO states output, beam distance, and runtime for every single mode instead of leaving any of them blank. Turbo gives 3000 lumens and 223 meters for 30 seconds. High gives 1500 lumens, 149 meters, and 2 hours. Medium gives 750 lumens, 107 meters, and 4.5 hours. Low gives 50 lumens, 31 meters, and 45 hours. NEBO names the battery too, a 4000mAh, 3.7V, 14.8Wh lithium-ion cell that charges over USB-C, in an anodized aluminum housing rated IPX7.

Our Take Choose the Transcend 3K for a hard hat and a long shift, where a stated runtime for every mode beats guessing from a range. NEBO calls the housing an oversized design and states no weight for it, so try it on before a full shift if a slim profile is the priority.

PROS
  • Output, beam distance, and runtime stated for every mode, from 30 seconds on turbo to 45 hours on low.
  • 4 hard hat clips and a detachable, magnetic work light.
  • A named 4000mAh lithium-ion battery and an IPX7 rating.
CONS
  • Turbo’s 3000 lumens only lasts 30 seconds.
  • Called an oversized design, and no weight figure given.

9. KYEKIO 3-Pack — Best Multi-Pack for Families

A headlamp that has to live in the car, the kitchen drawer, and the garage all at once needs to be three headlamps, not one, and KYEKIO packages exactly that: 3 headlamps and 3 Type-C charging cables in one box, plus a manual.

Each headlamp carries 7 modes, flood high and low, spot high and low, red, red strobe, and white strobe, with a motion sensor that switches the light on and off with a wave of your hand. The COB flood covers a 230-degree wide angle and the spot reaches nearly 300 feet. Each unit has a built-in, non-detachable battery that charges in 2 to 4 hours over USB Type-C, with 2.5 to 8 hours of runtime depending on the mode and a four-step power indicator. KYEKIO warns against charging with a high-current adapter, since it can damage the light, and the listing calls the headlamps waterproof but states no IP rating and no lumen figure.

Buy the 3-Pack for coverage across three places, not for a stated lumen figure to compare against a single headlamp.

Our Take Choose the 3-Pack when you need several headlamps with the same controls and a cable for each one. Keep a low-power USB charger on hand for these, since KYEKIO’s own warning against a high-current adapter rules out grabbing just any fast charger.

PROS
  • 3 headlamps and a Type-C cable for each one.
  • Flood, spot, and red modes plus a wave-to-switch motion sensor.
  • A 2 to 4 hour charge and a four-step power indicator.
CONS
  • No lumen figure and no IP rating given.
  • A high-current adapter can damage the light, so the charger has to be the right kind.

10. Blukar Zoom Headlamp — Best Rear Red Light for Being Seen

A road run or a dog walk after dark puts the danger behind you, not in front, and Blukar built its zoom headlamp around that. A red light on the back of the headlamp stays on to alert drivers, a feature none of the other nine listings on this page name, in addition to five front modes, main white, side white, all white, all white flashing, and main red.

A zoom ring rotates the main lens between flood and spot, the lamp tilts 90 degrees, and the elastic headband works on a bare head or a helmet. Blukar states a 5-hour full charge over the included USB cable, and a built-in, non-removable battery pack rather than a separate cylindrical cell. It carries an IPX6 rating and a sealed battery compartment, though the listing gives no lumen figure, beam distance, or runtime in hours.

Pair this one with a headlamp that states lumens and runtime if you need stated figures to plan a route around, since Blukar gives neither.

Our Take Choose the Blukar zoom headlamp when being seen from behind comes first, such as on a road with no sidewalk. Pick a headlamp from this page with stated lumens and runtime if you need to plan around those figures.

PROS
  • A rear red light that stays on, plus a red mode on the front.
  • A zoom lens that moves between flood and spot.
  • An IPX6 rating and a sealed battery compartment.
CONS
  • No lumen figure, beam distance, or runtime in hours given.
  • A built-in battery that cannot be removed.

Buying Guide

Read lumen and beam figures as each brand’s own claim

Lumens describe how much light leaves the headlamp, and beam distance describes how far that light reaches before it fades. Nitecore’s stated figures put the HC65 UHE at 2000 lumens and 243 yards, Fenix rates the HM65R-T V2.0 at 1600 lumens and 185 yards, and BioLite quotes 500 lumens and 100 meters for the Range 500. None of these brands names the measurement standard behind its own numbers.

That gap counts most when a listing gives no figure at all. The KYEKIO 3-Pack and the Blukar zoom headlamp both skip a lumen figure entirely, so a higher number on one listing doesn’t prove a brighter beam than a headlamp that states none. For a light built to fill a whole tent or table instead of following your head, our guide to USB-C camping lanterns covers that different job.

Match the beam types to the job

A spot beam reaches down a trail, a flood beam lights the ground at your feet, and a red light keeps your night vision at camp. The HC65 UHE and the NU20 Classic both pair a spot, a reading light, and a red mode on one head, while the UT27 MCT Pro adds three color temperatures instead of a reading light.

For a beam you can reshape, Coast states twist focus on the XPH30R, Nitecore names a stepless E-focus on the HC75 UHE, and Blukar puts a zoom lens on its own headlamp. Red light is not on every listing here. The HM65R-T V2.0, Range 500, XPH30R, and Transcend 3K name no red mode, so check for red before you buy a camp headlamp.

Compare runtime at the mode you will use

NEBO states a runtime for every single mode on the Transcend 3K, from 30 seconds on turbo to 45 hours on low, and Coast quotes 6.75, 10, and 28 hours for high, medium, and low on the XPH30R. That per-mode detail is the exception here, not the rule.

Nitecore’s figure for the HC65 UHE tops out at 82 hours and Fenix’s figure for the HM65R-T V2.0 tops 600 hours, but neither brand names the mode behind its own number, so confirm the exact figure directly before a multi-night trip depends on it. For a longer outage where a light and a source of news both matter, pair a headlamp with a radio from our guide to USB-C emergency radios.

Know how the battery is arranged

USB-C rechargeable headlamp charging from a USB-C cable beside a second headlamp with its battery pack slid out next to three AAA batteries for backup power.
A USB-C headlamp charges from a cable, while a headlamp with a removable pack and AAA support can also run on store-bought cells when the pack is flat.

Nitecore states two USB-C rechargeable HLB1500 packs plus support for 3 x AAA batteries for the UT27 MCT Pro, so you can swap packs or run on store-bought cells, and NEBO names a 4000mAh lithium-ion battery for the Transcend 3K. KYEKIO and Blukar both describe built-in batteries that cannot be removed.

The rest of the lineup, the HC65 UHE, the HM65R-T V2.0, the Range 500, the NU20 Classic, and the HC75 UHE, simply doesn’t say whether its battery can be swapped. A headlamp whose battery you can’t swap needs a way to recharge away from the wall, and our guides to USB-C power banks for Macs and USB-C solar charger panels cover both options for a trip or an outage.

Check the water rating against where you use it

Water ratings spread wide across this lineup. Nitecore and Fenix both rate their top picks IP68, BioLite rates the Range 500 IP67, NEBO rates the Transcend 3K IPX7, Nitecore rates the NU20 Classic and the UT27 MCT Pro IP66, Blukar rates its zoom headlamp IPX6, and Coast rates the XPH30R IP54, a water-resistance figure rather than a submersion rating.

The HC75 UHE and the KYEKIO 3-Pack give no IP rating at all, so treat either claim as unconfirmed rather than a number you can compare against the others. For a rainy trail, a canoe, or a jobsite in the weather, pick the listing with the higher stated number, and for a travel kit, our guide to slim GaN USB-C wall chargers covers flat and folding plugs that pack easily.

Match weight, fit, and charging gear to the activity

Nitecore’s spec sheet puts the NU20 Classic at 1.34 oz, lighter than any other individually stated weight here, and the UT27 MCT Pro at 2.61 oz with headband and battery. Fenix puts a reflective headband with a one-hand SPORT fit fastener on the HM65R-T V2.0, and BioLite gives a moisture-wicking band to the Range 500.

Any USB-C wall charger you already own works for every headlamp here except the KYEKIO 3-Pack, which warns against a high-current adapter specifically. A spare cable from our guide to USB-C cables keeps a kit ready, and for a cable that rides in a pack without fraying, see our guide to heavy-duty braided USB-C cables.

FAQ

What is the best headlamp to keep in an emergency kit?

The Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro is the pick for an emergency kit. It includes two USB-C rechargeable HLB1500 battery packs and supports 3 x AAA batteries, so the headlamp can keep running on store-bought cells after both packs go flat.

Nitecore doesn’t confirm that AAA batteries come in the box, so add three to the kit yourself. For a kit that covers news and weather as well as light, see our guide to USB-C emergency radios.

Which headlamp suits night running?

Fenix built the HM65R-T V2.0 for trail running, with a reflective headband, a one-hand SPORT fit fastener, a warm white beam for fog and rain, and IP68 sealing. Runners who put weight first should look at the Nitecore NU20 Classic instead, the lightest stated weight on this page at 1.34 oz.

For a road run, the Blukar zoom headlamp adds a rear red light that stays on to alert drivers behind you, a feature none of the other headlamps here carry.

Do I need a red light on a headlamp?

A red light helps you keep your night vision at camp, in a tent, or while reading a map. The HC65 UHE, the NU20 Classic, the UT27 MCT Pro, and the HC75 UHE all carry one, and the KYEKIO 3-Pack and the Blukar zoom headlamp both include red modes too.

The HM65R-T V2.0, the Range 500, the XPH30R, and the Transcend 3K name no red mode at all. If red light is part of how you camp, choose from the headlamps above that state one.

How long does a USB-C headlamp take to charge?

It depends on the listing, and several give no time at all. BioLite states 0 to 80 percent in 30 minutes for the Range 500, Nitecore states just over an hour for the NU20 Classic, 2 hours for the HC65 UHE, and just over 2 hours for the HC75 UHE.

KYEKIO states 2 to 4 hours for its 3-Pack, and Blukar states 5 hours for its zoom headlamp. The HM65R-T V2.0, the UT27 MCT Pro, the XPH30R, and the Transcend 3K listings give no charge time at all.

Can I replace the battery in these headlamps?

Only the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro states swappable power in its own feature text, with two HLB1500 battery packs plus support for 3 x AAA batteries. The KYEKIO 3-Pack and the Blukar zoom headlamp both describe built-in batteries that cannot be removed.

The other six listings simply don’t say whether the battery can come out. If a spare battery is part of your plan, ask the brand before you buy, or plan to recharge in the field with a power bank or a solar panel.

Bottom Line

For most buyers, the Nitecore HC65 UHE is the best all-round USB-C headlamp here, pairing a spot beam, a reading light, and a red mode with IP68 sealing and a stated 2-hour recharge. Choose the Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 for trail running, the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro for an emergency kit because it lists AAA support, the NEBO Transcend 3K for a hard hat, or the KYEKIO 3-Pack for a family that needs one in every place. Whichever you pick, match the runtime at the mode you will use to the job, and keep a cable and charger with the headlamp.

Every spec above comes from each brand’s own Amazon listing, and Amazon’s product details fill in weight or size only where a brand states none. None of these listings names a shared measurement standard, so treat each figure as that brand’s own claim rather than a lab measurement.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts