V-Mount Battery Chargers for Creator Video Kits: Our Best Picks

V-Mount Battery Chargers for Creator Video Kits: Our Best Picks
This post includes affiliate links, for which we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase using our links. As an Amazon Associate, we can earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

V-mount batteries can power lights, monitors, cameras, wireless systems, and mobile production rigs, but the charger has to match the battery’s charging input. Every product in this comparison uses a D-Tap connection or is described for D-Tap-equipped batteries. The V-mount or Gold-mount plate style alone is not enough. The battery must expose a compatible D-Tap charging port and accept the charger’s stated voltage and current.

We compared eight products with active New Amazon listings. Seven are single-battery adapters or chargers, while one can charge two D-Tap batteries and also has a 4-pin XLR DC output. The main differences are 2 A, 3 A, and 4 A output, whether the charger handles one battery or two, cable length, LED status, stated protections, certifications, charging-time examples, and warranty. Follow the battery and charger instructions together, charge in a dry and ventilated location, and never leave lithium batteries charging unattended.

V-Mount Battery Charger Comparison

ImageProductDetailsCheck Price
KUNLUN LBC-1CP 16.8V 4A D-Tap Quick Charger on Amazon
KUNLUN LBC-1CP 16.8V 4A D-Tap Quick ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V, 4 A maximum
AC input: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz
Status indicator: Red charging; green full
Key limit: Battery must support 4 A D-Tap charging
Check Price on Amazon
NEEWER 16.8V 2A D-Tap Battery Charger on Amazon
NEEWER 16.8V 2A D-Tap Battery ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V, 2 A, 33.6 W
AC input: Not stated
Status indicator: Red charging; green full
Key limit: 10-hour example for 15,000 mAh; stock marked scarce
Check Price on Amazon
JYJZPB NKC1682000 16.8V 2A D-Tap Charger on Amazon
JYJZPB NKC1682000 16.8V 2A D-Tap ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V, 2 A maximum
AC input: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz
Status indicator: Red charging; green full
Key limit: 3-to-4-hour example applies to 6,800 mAh battery
Check Price on Amazon
TAIFU 16.8V 3A D-Tap Quick Charger on Amazon
TAIFU 16.8V 3A D-Tap Quick ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V, 3 A
AC input: 110-240 V
Status indicator: Not stated
Key limit: Cable length and charging time not stated
Check Price on Amazon
Moman TAP50 16.8V 3A D-Tap Charger on Amazon
Moman TAP50 16.8V 3A D-Tap ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V, 3 A maximum, 50 W
AC input: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz
Status indicator: Red charging; green full
Key limit: No charging-time example stated
Check Price on Amazon
T POWER 16.8V D-Tap Charger on Amazon
T POWER 16.8V D-Tap ChargerBattery channels: 1
Output: 16.8 V; 2 A-3 A compatible-model wording
AC input: 100-240 V
Status indicator: Not stated
Key limit: Confirm exact delivered current; D-Tap charging ports only
Check Price on Amazon
Moman TAP2C Dual D-Tap Charger with 4-Pin XLR Output on Amazon
Moman TAP2C Dual D-Tap Charger with 4-Pin XLR OutputBattery channels: 2
Output: 16.8 V 4 A single; 16.8 V 2 A per dual channel
AC input: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz
Status indicator: Red charging; green full
Key limit: Separate 17 V, 4 A XLR output requires exact device match
Check Price on Amazon
Wasabi Power LCH-VMOUNT D-Type Charger on Amazon
Wasabi Power LCH-VMOUNT D-Type ChargerBattery channels: 1 charger included
Output: Not stated
AC input: US plug included; range not stated
Status indicator: Not stated
Key limit: Confirm electrical specs for exact battery
Check Price on Amazon

Output current is not a universal speed setting. The battery must support the charger’s 16.8 V output and permitted charge current through D-Tap. A 4 A charger should not be selected for a pack merely because it fits physically. Charging-time examples are tied to the capacity and laboratory conditions named by the seller, and actual charging time can vary with the battery, state of charge, temperature, and charge-control behavior.

1. KUNLUN LBC-1CP D-Tap Charger — Best Fast Single-Battery Charger

The KUNLUN LBC-1CP is a single-battery D-Tap charger with universal 100-to-240 V, 50/60 Hz AC input. KUNLUN rates the DC output at 16.8 V and 4 A maximum. The manufacturer includes a 3.93-foot power cord to give some freedom to place the battery away from the wall outlet.

KUNLUN claims a 3-to-4-hour charge for a 15,000 mAh battery in lab testing, compared with a 2 A charger taking roughly twice as long under its comparison. That example is not a guarantee for every V-mount battery. The pack’s permitted D-Tap input and charging specification must support the charger’s 4 A output.

A red LED indicates charging, and green indicates a completed charge. KUNLUN lists automatic constant-current control with protection against overcharging, short circuits, overcurrent, overheating, and electric shock, plus CE, FCC, and RoHS compliance claims. It also explicitly says not to leave batteries unattended and to charge in a dry, cool, ventilated place. For two batteries at once, compare the Moman TAP2C.

[greenbox] Best for one compatible high-capacity D-Tap battery that explicitly accepts 16.8 V, 4 A charging. [/greenbox] Our Take

The LBC-1CP has the clearest fast single-channel specification and time example. Its 4 A output is an advantage only when the battery maker allows that charging rate.

Pros
  • 16.8 V, 4 A maximum output
  • Red and green charge-status LED
  • Multiple stated electrical protections
Cons
  • Charges only one battery
  • 4 A requires battery-side compatibility

2. NEEWER 16.8V 2A D-Tap Charger — Best for NEEWER Battery Kits

NEEWER’s adapter outputs 16.8 V at 2 A, or 33.6 W, through a 3.3-foot D-Tap cable. It is listed for NEEWER BP-95W, BP-190WS, BP-150WS, BP-V47, and BP-V95 batteries as well as several Sony battery and camcorder examples that use the required connection.

NEEWER says a 15,000 mAh V-lock battery charges within 10 hours. The output current is lower than the 3 A and 4 A products, so the example is slower, but lower current may be the correct match for batteries whose instructions do not permit faster input. The included AC cable and 1 m D-Tap lead allow the adapter to sit away from the pack.

Its LED is red during charging and green when full. Constant-current control is listed with overheating, overcharging, short-circuit, and electric-shock protection. The active New listing was marked scarce when checked. Buyers who want a similar 2 A specification with a time example for a smaller battery can compare the JYJZPB NKC1682000.

[bluebox] Best for compatible NEEWER batteries or creator kits that require a clearly stated 16.8 V, 2 A charge profile. [/bluebox] Our Take

This NEEWER charger is straightforward and names several matching batteries. Because of the lower current and scarce stock, it is less attractive when a battery explicitly supports a faster charger.

Pros
  • Clear 16.8 V, 2 A, 33.6 W output
  • Names compatible NEEWER packs
  • Status LED and protection system
Cons
  • Slow 10-hour example for 15,000 mAh
  • Availability was marked scarce

3. JYJZPB NKC1682000 D-Tap Charger — Best 2A Time Example

The JYJZPB NKC1682000 is another single-channel 16.8 V, 2 A adapter. It accepts 100-to-240 V, 50/60 Hz AC input and includes both its D-Tap power adapter and a 3.93-foot AC cable. The compatibility list includes D-Tap-equipped V-mount, V-lock, and Gold-mount batteries plus several professional Sony examples.

JYJZPB states a 3-to-4-hour charge for a 6,800 mAh battery at its 2 A maximum output. That capacity-specific example should not be transferred to larger 95 Wh, 150 Wh, or 190 Wh packs. Red and green LEDs show charging and full states.

The adapter uses an MCU, and JYJZPB lists protection against overheating, overcharging, short circuits, and electric shock. A 30-day money-back period and one-year warranty are also stated. It is a sensible lower-current choice when the battery instructions match. For a 3 A middle ground with a longer lead, the Moman TAP50 is the better fit.

[greenbox] Best for a compatible lower-capacity D-Tap pack when a documented 2 A charging-time example is useful. [/greenbox] Our Take

The JYJZPB has a clear electrical specification and a time example tied to a stated capacity. Its one-year warranty is shorter than the TAIFU and Wasabi coverage listed here.

Pros
  • 16.8 V, 2 A output
  • 3-to-4-hour example for 6,800 mAh
  • Status LED and MCU protections
Cons
  • Single-channel charging only
  • One-year warranty

4. TAIFU 16.8V 3A D-Tap Charger — Best Long-Warranty Single Charger

TAIFU’s adapter is between the 2 A and 4 A single-channel models, with a 16.8 V, 3 A output and 110-to-240 V input range. It is listed for D-Tap-equipped V-mount, V-lock, and Gold-mount batteries, including a long group of Sony professional battery and camera examples.

The housing uses UL94-V1-rated flame-resistant PC material and a pure-copper core according to the TAIFU listing. It lists overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit output protection. No charging LED, cord length, wattage, or capacity-specific time estimate is stated.

The main difference is a five-year warranty with money-back and exchange language. That coverage does not establish battery compatibility, so confirm the exact D-Tap charging input and current limit first. For a 3 A charger with an LED, 50 W rating, and certification details, compare the Moman TAP50.

[graybox] Best for a compatible 3 A battery when the five-year stated warranty counts for more than LED or time details. [/graybox] Our Take

The TAIFU offers a useful middle-current specification and the longest warranty in the group. Because status and cable details are missing, we rank it below the more fully documented 3 A Moman.

Pros
  • 16.8 V, 3 A output
  • Five-year stated warranty
  • Overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit protection
Cons
  • No status LED described
  • Cable length and charge-time example are missing

5. Moman TAP50 D-Tap Charger — Best 3A Single Charger

The Moman TAP50 accepts 100-to-240 V AC and outputs 16.8 V at up to 3 A, with a 50 W rating. Moman lists an overall length of 245 cm or 8 feet, so the charger is easier to place around charging carts, light cases, and crowded outlets.

Its LED uses red for charging and green for full charge. Automatic constant-current control is listed to prevent overcharging, while short-circuit, overcurrent, and overvoltage protections are also stated. Moman claims CE, UKCA, and UL certification.

The TAP50 works with D-Tap-equipped V-mount and Gold-mount batteries according to the listing. No capacity-specific charging time or warranty is stated, so compare it on electrical output, lead length, indicators, and protection claims. For 4 A single-channel charging or two 2 A channels, the Moman TAP2C is the better fit.

[bluebox] Best for one compatible battery that accepts 3 A charging and benefits from a long cable and clearly listed certifications. [/bluebox] Our Take

The TAP50 is the most complete 3 A option in the comparison. It is easier to place and evaluate than less documented adapters because of its 8-foot listed length and certification claims.

Pros
  • 16.8 V, 3 A, 50 W output
  • 8-foot listed length
  • CE, UKCA, and UL certification claims
Cons
  • No charging-time example
  • Single battery only

6. T POWER D-Tap Power Adapter — Best UL-Listed Replacement Option

T POWER markets this as a replacement adapter for named NEEWER V-mount batteries and Sony professional camera or battery examples. It accepts 100-to-240 V AC and is explicitly restricted to batteries with a D-Tap charging port. T POWER’s warning says it is not compatible with non-D-Tap or fixed-plug chargers.

The T POWER listing states DC 16.8 V and a 2 A-to-3 A compatible-model range, rather than one unambiguous output current for every supported pack. Confirm the label on the exact delivered adapter and the battery’s instructions before connection. Do not assume the charger automatically changes current for any battery.

The adapter is UL listed and described as compliant with DOE Level VI and California Energy Commission efficiency standards. It also lists overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit protection. The active New listing was marked scarce. Buyers who need a fixed documented 2 A or 3 A value should choose one of the more specific products above.

[greenbox] Best for replacing one of the specifically named compatible adapters after verifying the exact delivered output label. [/greenbox] Our Take

The UL and efficiency statements are useful, but the 2 A-to-3 A wording is too ambiguous for a general recommendation. Treat it as a model-specific replacement rather than a universal D-Tap choice.

Pros
  • UL listed
  • Names NEEWER and Sony compatibility examples
  • Explicit non-D-Tap warning
Cons
  • Output current is not stated as one exact value
  • Availability was marked scarce

7. Moman TAP2C Dual D-Tap Charger — Best Overall

The Moman TAP2C is the only charger here designed for two D-Tap batteries at the same time. Moman states that on one channel it outputs 16.8 V at 4 A, and when both channels operate, each receives 16.8 V at 2 A. The two modes affect scheduling, because dual charging increases throughput but does not deliver 4 A to each battery.

The unit is also specified with a 17 V, 4 A maximum 4-pin XLR DC output for compatible camera or production equipment. Treat the XLR function as a separately specified power output, not another battery-charging port, and match the connected device’s voltage, connector wiring, and power requirement exactly.

Moman includes red and green LEDs to indicate charging and full status. Automatic constant-current control and short-circuit, overcurrent, and overvoltage protections are listed, along with CE, UKCA, and UL certification claims. The TAP2C is the strongest choice for a two-battery creator kit because it charges both batteries from one unit and adds a production DC output. A single compatible pack can still use the faster 4 A channel mode.

[bluebox] Best for a creator kit with two compatible D-Tap batteries or a need for the specified 4-pin XLR DC output. [/bluebox] Our Take

The TAP2C has the broadest useful workflow: 4 A for one battery, 2 A per battery for two, plus a separate 17 V XLR output. Those modes must be matched carefully to the batteries and powered equipment.

Pros
  • Charges one or two D-Tap batteries
  • 4 A single-channel or 2 A per dual channel
  • 17 V, 4 A 4-pin XLR output
Cons
  • Dual mode is not 4 A per battery
  • More connections require careful voltage matching

8. Wasabi Power LCH-VMOUNT D-Type Charger — Best Brand-Ecosystem Option

Wasabi Power’s LCH-VMOUNT includes one charger and a US plug. It is listed for high-capacity V-mount and Gold-mount batteries, including Wasabi Power 95 Wh, 150 Wh, and 190 Wh V-mount packs and its 95 Wh Gold-mount pack.

The product has a three-year manufacturer warranty. The warranty is the clearest difference in the short listing, alongside the named compatibility with Wasabi Power batteries. It may suit an owner already using that battery family who wants a matching brand charger.

The listing does not state AC input range, DC voltage, output current, wattage, cable length, LED behavior, charging time, protection circuits, or certification. Those missing electrical details must be confirmed before purchase and use. The TAIFU 3A Charger is the better documented long-warranty alternative.

[graybox] Best for an existing Wasabi Power battery owner who confirms the electrical specification for the exact pack. [/graybox] Our Take

The named Wasabi battery support and three-year warranty are useful, but the output specification is missing, so we can’t recommend it broadly. Confirm the charger label directly for the intended battery.

Pros
  • Names compatible Wasabi Power packs
  • Supports listed V-mount and Gold-mount batteries
  • Three-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
  • Voltage, current, and wattage are not supplied
  • No indicator or protection details stated

Buying Guide: Choosing a V-Mount Battery Charger

Verify D-Tap charging support first

V-mount and Gold-mount describe how a battery attaches to equipment, not necessarily how it accepts charge. Every charger here requires a D-Tap charging socket or is described for D-Tap-equipped packs. The battery must explicitly allow charging through its D-Tap port. A physical connector alone does not establish electrical compatibility.

Read the battery label and manual for charging voltage, permitted current, connector instructions, and any brand-specific limits. The T POWER listing explicitly excludes non-D-Tap and fixed-plug batteries. Match the complete charge specification before comparing speed or price.

Match 16.8 volts and the permitted current

Most fully specified products here output 16.8 V, which is commonly listed for these D-Tap battery chargers. The battery still needs to accept that exact charger output. Current varies from 2 A to 4 A, and a higher number can shorten charging only when the pack’s charge circuitry permits it. Never select charge current by capacity alone.

The KUNLUN uses 4 A, the Moman TAP50 and TAIFU use 3 A, and NEEWER and JYJZPB use 2 A. The T POWER wording spans 2 A to 3 A by compatible model, while Wasabi lists no electrical figure. Prefer an exact published match over an assumed faster charge.

Understand dual-channel current sharing

The Moman TAP2C delivers 4 A when one D-Tap channel is used and 2 A to each channel when two batteries charge. Two batteries therefore do not receive 4 A apiece. Read multi-channel ratings per channel and per operating mode.

Dual charging can be more convenient between shoots even if each pack charges more slowly. It also reduces the number of wall adapters in a kit. Confirm that both batteries support the shared 2 A mode, and leave ventilation around the charger and packs. Throughput and per-battery speed are different measurements.

Treat charging-time examples as conditional

KUNLUN gives a 3-to-4-hour example for 15,000 mAh at 4 A, NEEWER states within 10 hours for 15,000 mAh at 2 A, and JYJZPB gives 3 to 4 hours for 6,800 mAh at 2 A. Those examples use different capacities and conditions. Do not compare time without comparing battery capacity and current.

Battery age, remaining charge, temperature, protection circuitry, and the final constant-voltage stage can change total time. Plan a buffer before a shoot rather than relying on the shortest claim. A full-status light is more useful than a calculated deadline.

Check indicators, cables, and placement

Red-for-charging and green-for-full is stated for KUNLUN, NEEWER, JYJZPB, Moman TAP50, and Moman TAP2C. TAIFU, T POWER, and Wasabi do not document an indicator in their listings. A visible status light makes charging easier to monitor, but it does not justify leaving the battery unattended.

Cable length affects safe placement. Avoid hanging the adapter by its cable, trapping it under gear, or placing the pack where heat cannot escape. The Moman TAP50 lists an 8-foot length, while several others list shorter measurements or none. Arrange the charger on a dry, stable, ventilated surface.

Compare protections and certifications carefully

Listings mention constant-current control, overvoltage, overcurrent, short-circuit, overheating, overcharge, or electric-shock protection in different combinations. Several also claim CE, FCC, RoHS, UKCA, or UL status. Report and compare only the protections actually stated for the product.

Built-in protection is not a substitute for inspection and supervision. Stop using a charger with damaged cables, loose connectors, unusual heat, odor, swelling, or inconsistent indicators, and follow the battery maker’s safety instructions. Do not charge unattended or near combustible clutter.

Decide whether 4-pin XLR output is useful

The TAP2C’s 17 V, 4 A XLR output can power compatible production equipment, so some kits need one less separate adapter. It is not automatically compatible with every four-pin device. Match voltage, current requirement, connector type, and wiring before connection.

If XLR power is unnecessary, a simpler single-channel charger means fewer cables and operating modes. Choose the dual unit for a defined workflow rather than feature count alone. Unused power outputs do not improve battery charging.

These guides cover camera support, protection, capture, and other hardware commonly used in portable creator kits:

Frequently Asked Questions

Can every V-mount battery charge through D-Tap?

No. A V-mount battery may have a D-Tap output, a bidirectional port, or a different supported charging input depending on its design. The battery instructions must explicitly permit D-Tap charging. Do not infer charging support from the mount plate or connector shape.

Confirm the permitted voltage, current, and connection procedure for the exact battery model. The chargers in this guide have listings that describe D-Tap use, but you are responsible for matching the battery specification.

Is a 4A charger always better than a 2A charger?

No. A 4 A charger may reduce time for a battery designed to accept it, but it is not appropriate when the pack limits input to a lower current. Battery compatibility controls the safe charging rate. A slower matched charger is better than an incompatible fast one.

Compare the battery manual with the charger’s 16.8 V output and amperage. Charging time also depends on capacity and the battery’s control circuitry, so current alone does not predict the exact finish time.

Can a Gold-mount battery use these chargers?

A Gold-mount battery can use these chargers only when it has a compatible D-Tap charging port and accepts the stated electrical output. Several listings name both V-mount and Gold-mount packs, but the plate style does not replace checking the D-Tap charging specification.

Some Gold-mount batteries may use different charging systems. Verify the exact battery label and documentation rather than relying on a general compatibility phrase in a charger title.

Can two batteries charge at 4A each on the Moman TAP2C?

No. Moman’s specification says one channel outputs 16.8 V at 4 A, while two-channel use outputs 16.8 V at 2 A per channel. Dual mode shares the available charging output.

That arrangement can still improve total workflow by charging two packs at once. Estimate the schedule from the 2 A per-battery mode and each pack’s capacity rather than the single-channel 4 A headline.

Should a V-mount battery charge overnight?

Do not leave charging batteries unattended. The KUNLUN listing says this explicitly, and it is a prudent boundary for the entire category. Monitor the pack and charger in a dry, cool, ventilated area and keep the setup away from combustible clutter.

Use the status indicator where one is listed and disconnect according to the product instructions after charging. If a pack or adapter becomes damaged, swollen, unusually hot, or produces an odor, stop using it and follow the maker’s safety and service guidance.

Bottom Line

The Moman TAP2C is our best overall charger for a creator kit with multiple compatible D-Tap batteries. It charges one pack at 4 A or two at 2 A each and adds a specified 17 V, 4 A 4-pin XLR output. For one pack, the KUNLUN LBC-1CP is the strongest clearly documented 4 A choice, while the Moman TAP50 is a well-specified 3 A middle ground with a long cable and certification claims.

Choose a 2 A NEEWER or JYJZPB model when that rate matches the battery, and treat the T POWER and Wasabi options as model-specific choices requiring more electrical confirmation. Whatever the brand, verify that the exact battery permits D-Tap charging at 16.8 V and the stated current. Monitor every charge on a stable, ventilated surface and never trade battery compatibility for a faster headline number.

Product input and output specifications, charging-time examples, cable details, protection and certification claims, warranties, and availability were checked against the supplied Amazon product records dated October 14, 2026. Verify current battery compatibility and charging instructions before use.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts