A USB-C power meter sits between a charger and a device, then reports the voltage, amperage, and calculated wattage passing through that connection. It is useful when a laptop, phone, dock, power bank, or cable is behaving differently than expected, because the display shows the negotiated charge rather than the number printed on a charger.
The right meter depends on the job. Some are small inline displays for a quick charging check, while others can inspect Power Delivery profiles, read the E-marker chip in a compatible cable, or pass USB data and DisplayPort Alt Mode through while they report power. The six picks below all have an active New Amazon US offer and a published maker specification for the exact model.
Choose a basic meter for a charge readout, and choose an analyzer only when protocol or cable information will change your next step.Table of Contents
Best USB-C Power Meter Testers Compared
| Image | Product | Details | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | StarTech USBC-PWRTESTER | Best fit: USB-C docks, displays, and data links Range: 4.5-50 V; 50 mA-6.5 A; 240 W USB-C features: PD 3.1 EPR; 10 Gbps and DP Alt Mode pass-through Cable diagnostics: Cable and port checks; no E-marker reader stated | Check Price on Amazon |
![]() | Plugable USBC-VAMETER3 | Best fit: Straightforward inline 240 W monitoring Range: 4.5-50 V; 50 mA-6.5 A; 240 W USB-C features: PD R3.1 EPR; bidirectional; USB data and Alt Mode pass-through Cable diagnostics: No E-marker reader stated | Check Price on Amazon |
![]() | ChargerLAB POWER-Z KM003C | Best fit: PD profiles, protocols, and cable information Range: Up to 50 V, 6 A, 240 W USB-C features: PD3.2; protocol analyzer; two USB-C ports Cable diagnostics: E-marker and PDO tests | Check Price on Amazon |
![]() | FNIRSI FNB-C2 | Best fit: Compact 240 W USB-C diagnostics Range: 4-50 V; 0-6.5 A; 0-240 W USB-C features: PD3.1 EPR; bidirectional USB-C Cable diagnostics: E-marker reading and cable simulation | Check Price on Amazon |
![]() | FNIRSI FNB58 | Best fit: Mixed USB-A, Micro-USB, and USB-C gear Range: 4-28 V; 0-7 A; 0-140 W USB-C features: PD2.0/3.0; QC2.0/3.0; USB-A, Micro-USB, and Type-C Cable diagnostics: E-marker reading and cable resistance | Check Price on Amazon |
![]() | Klein Tools ET920 | Best fit: Basic USB-A and USB-C logging Range: 3-20 V; USB-C 0.05-5 A; USB-A 0.05-3 A USB-C features: Quick Charge compatible; 1,000-hour monitoring Cable diagnostics: No E-marker or PD analyzer stated | Check Price on Amazon |
1. StarTech USBC-PWRTESTER — Best for USB-C Docks and Data Pass-Through
If a USB-C link also carries a display or peripherals, StarTech’s USBC-PWRTESTER is the clearest place to start. StarTech specifies a 4.5 to 50 V and 50 mA to 6.5 A range with up to 240 W PD 3.1 EPR (Extended Power Range), so it covers conventional laptop charging as well as higher-power USB-C equipment within its published boundary.
StarTech states USB 10 Gbps data pass-through and DisplayPort Alt Mode support, which a basic charge meter doesn’t. The StarTech is a better fit than the Klein when a hub, monitor, or storage device stays in the connection, although StarTech says it is not compatible with Thunderbolt 3 devices. For cable-capability inspection, the KM003C or FNB-C2 add functions this meter does not claim.
Our Take Choose the StarTech USBC-PWRTESTER when a USB-C dock or display link needs a power reading and keeping its stated data path is part of the job. Skip it for a Thunderbolt 3 connection or when E-marker reading and PD packet details are the reason for buying a tester.
- StarTech specifies 240 W PD 3.1 EPR across a 4.5 to 50 V, 50 mA to 6.5 A range.
- StarTech states USB 10 Gbps and DisplayPort Alt Mode pass-through, which suit dock and monitor troubleshooting.
- Bidirectional measurement and a rotating display make the meter easier to connect and read.
- StarTech excludes Thunderbolt 3 devices, which is a firm compatibility boundary for some laptop setups.
- No E-marker reader is stated for cable-capability work.
2. Plugable USBC-VAMETER3 — Best Simple 240 W Inline Meter
Plugable’s USBC-VAMETER3 is for someone who wants the core information without a screen full of analyzer controls. Its published operating range is 4.5 to 50 V and 50 mA to 6.5 A, and Plugable rates it for up to 240 W of USB PD R3.1 Extended Power Range. It shows voltage and amperage, calculates wattage, and indicates the direction of flow.
Plugable also says this bidirectional meter passes USB data and USB-C Alt Mode video, which gives it a broader connection role than the Klein. It is the simpler alternative to the StarTech when a compact inline screen is enough, but Plugable explicitly says it is not compatible with Thunderbolt 3 and does not describe E-marker or PD-protocol analysis.
Press the orientation button to flip the display before you move any cables, because the flip does not change which side is the source or the device.Our Take Choose the Plugable USBC-VAMETER3 for a compact 240 W charge monitor when you need voltage, amperage, wattage, and direction instead of an analysis workflow. Move to the KM003C or FNB-C2 when cable data or PD profiles are the question, and do not insert it into a Thunderbolt 3 path.
- 240 W EPR capability gives a stated ceiling above older 100 W-only meters.
- Plugable’s bidirectional display shows whether the connected setup is charging or supplying power.
- Plugable states USB data and Alt Mode video pass through the meter.
- Plugable does not specify an E-marker reader or PD analyzer, so it cannot replace a diagnostic tester.
- Plugable excludes Thunderbolt 3 compatibility.
3. ChargerLAB POWER-Z KM003C — Best for PD and Cable Analysis
The POWER-Z KM003C is the pick for questions beyond a single wattage reading. ChargerLAB says it supports up to 50 V, 6 A, and 240 W in PD, and its product page names voltage/amperage detection, capacity and energy tests, E-marker tests, PDO tests, protocol tests, and a USB PD protocol analyzer. With those functions you can compare what a charger offers with what one device negotiates.
ChargerLAB lists two USB-C ports for the measured path plus a USB-C HID port for connecting a computer or power supply. The KM003C is more involved than the Plugable or StarTech. That extra depth suits a repair bench or a cable inventory, but it is unnecessary when you only need to see whether a laptop is drawing power. For an adjacent tool focused on forcing a supported PD profile, see our USB-C PD trigger cable guide.
Our Take Choose the ChargerLAB POWER-Z KM003C when you need documented PD, protocol, PDO, and E-marker functions in addition to live electrical readings. Skip it for a simple desk display, where the Plugable gives the relevant information with less navigation.
- ChargerLAB publishes PD3.2 support and a 50 V, 6 A, 240 W boundary.
- ChargerLAB lists E-marker, PDO, and protocol tests for investigating a cable or charger.
- ChargerLAB lists a USB PD protocol analyzer, which adds context beyond a final wattage display.
- The analysis controls are more involved than those of a plug-in wattmeter.
- The KM003C has USB-C ports only, so a mixed legacy USB-A setup is covered less directly than with the FNB58.
4. FNIRSI FNB-C2 — Best Compact High-Power USB-C Tester
FNIRSI’s FNB-C2 combines a compact USB-C format with functions intended for high-power work. FNIRSI specifies 4 to 50 V, 0 to 6.5 A, and 0 to 240 W monitoring, PD3.1 EPR support, bidirectional USB-C operation, and a 20-bit analog-to-digital converter. The published page also lists E-marker reading, cable simulation, fast-charge protocol detection, and PD packet monitoring.
The FNB-C2 is more specialized than the Plugable and covers fewer connector types than the FNB58. Choose it when the connection is USB-C at both ends and EPR, cable information, or PD behavior is relevant. Choose the FNB58 when USB-A or Micro-USB equipment is also on the bench, and use a dedicated USB-C cable tester when pin continuity rather than power negotiation is the task.
Our Take Choose the FNIRSI FNB-C2 when you want compact USB-C-only diagnostics with a published 240 W boundary and cable information. Skip it if an easier live readout or a USB-A port is more useful than protocol tools.
- FNIRSI specifies PD3.1 EPR with 4 to 50 V, 0 to 6.5 A, and 0 to 240 W monitoring.
- FNIRSI lists E-marker reading and cable simulation, which help distinguish cable information from charge behavior.
- FNIRSI specifies bidirectional USB-C operation, which works for power-bank input and output checks.
- USB-C-only connectors make it less practical for a mixed USB-A work area.
- Using the advanced functions takes more effort than reading a basic display meter.
5. FNIRSI FNB58 — Best for Mixed USB Ports and Protocols
The FNIRSI FNB58 suits a work area where USB-A chargers, Micro-USB accessories, and USB-C gear all appear. FNIRSI specifies 4 to 28 V, 0 to 7 A, and 0 to 140 W monitoring, a 2-inch display, and integrated USB-A, Micro-USB, and Type-C interfaces. It also describes PD2.0/3.0, QC2.0/3.0, FCP/SCP, AFC, VOOC/WARP, and Super VOOC triggering or detection.
It can read E-marker information and measure cable resistance through its published differential-pressure method, while its page describes capacity, energy, D+/D- voltage, and curve functions. The range stops below the FNB-C2’s published 240 W EPR ceiling, so it is a better mixed-port tool than a full EPR meter. If the purpose is to add load to a charger rather than observe a device’s demand, use a purpose-built USB-C electronic load tester instead.
The FNB58’s broader connector set is useful for varied equipment, while its stated 140 W ceiling is lower than the 240 W EPR-focused picks.Our Take Choose the FNIRSI FNB58 for a varied collection of USB-A, Micro-USB, and USB-C chargers and accessories, especially when protocol information is useful. Skip it for a 240 W USB-C EPR path, where the FNB-C2, StarTech, or Plugable has the higher published boundary.
- FNIRSI lists USB-A, Micro-USB, and Type-C interfaces, which cover more legacy charging gear.
- FNIRSI documents PD, Quick Charge, and several vendor fast-charge systems.
- FNIRSI lists E-marker reading and cable-resistance functions, which add useful cable context.
- The stated 0 to 140 W range is lower than the 240 W EPR models above.
- The several protocol controls make the FNB58 less direct for a quick charger check.
6. Klein Tools ET920 — Best for Basic USB-A and USB-C Monitoring
Klein’s ET920 is the plainest choice in this group, which is useful when you need a durable meter for ordinary USB ports rather than a PD analysis instrument. Klein specifies 3 to 20 V operation, USB-A amperage from 0.05 to 3 A, USB-C amperage from 0.05 to 5 A, and monitoring of voltage, amperage, capacity, energy, and calculated resistance for up to 1,000 hours.
Klein says the ET920 tests most common standard USB-A or USB-C ports, including Qualcomm Quick Charge ports, and that it is powered by the port being tested rather than by batteries. Its upper voltage limit is below a 48 V EPR path, and Klein does not state E-marker reading or a PD analyzer. Neither limit is a drawback for simple USB-A and USB-C work, but both make the ET920 a different tool from the KM003C and FNB-C2.
For a basic setup, place the ET920 inline and use its stored readings when an energy or capacity total over time is more useful than one screen glance.Our Take Choose the Klein Tools ET920 for straightforward USB-A and USB-C monitoring with Klein’s stated long monitoring time and no batteries to replace. Skip it for high-voltage EPR charging, cable E-marker inspection, or PD profile work.
- Klein lists separate USB-A and USB-C current ranges, so the older-port limit is clear.
- Klein specifies capacity, energy, and calculated resistance alongside electrical readings.
- Klein states monitoring for up to 1,000 hours, which suits longer USB power observations.
- Klein’s 20 V maximum excludes the higher EPR range used by 240 W USB-C equipment.
- Klein does not state E-marker reading or PD protocol analysis.
Buying Guide
1. Start with the connection you need to observe
For a charger, phone, laptop, or power bank, an inline meter shows the voltage, amperage, and wattage being negotiated in that one connection. The reading belongs to that complete setup, because the charger, cable, device, battery state, and supported protocols can each influence the displayed result. A meter does not prove that every other cable or device will negotiate the same way.
Choose the Plugable or Klein when that immediate reading is the goal, because both publish simple functions and have few controls. Use the StarTech when data or video shares the link, because it states USB 10 Gbps and DisplayPort Alt Mode pass-through. Check its Thunderbolt 3 exclusion before you insert it.
2. Match the meter’s range to the USB-C power class
Older or ordinary USB charging does not require a 240 W meter, but the meter must be rated for the voltage and amperage path you plan to observe. Do not exceed the maker’s published range, even when the connector shape fits. Klein specifies up to 20 V, and the FNB58 lists up to 28 V and 140 W, while the StarTech, Plugable, KM003C, and FNB-C2 publish higher ranges for EPR equipment.
For USB PD 3.1 EPR equipment, select a product that explicitly says it supports that class, rather than assuming any USB-C meter can handle it. A 240 W label is a meter boundary, not a promise of a 240 W charge, because a source and device only use a profile they both support and the cable permits.
3. Decide whether you need cable and PD information
An E-marker readout reports data stored in a compatible cable chip, such as its declared power or capability fields. The readout identifies a cable and does not certify its physical performance, so compare it with the relevant cable requirement and do not turn one displayed value into a blanket performance claim. The KM003C, FNB-C2, and FNB58 state E-marker functions. The other picks do not make that claim.
PD profile, PDO, and trigger controls suit a buyer who needs to inspect what a charger advertises or request a supported mode. These controls are not needed for a basic wattage check, and they can complicate a simple setup if the device’s electrical limits are unknown. Use the KM003C for its published PDO and analyzer functions, or the FNB-C2 for a USB-C instrument with a published EPR range.
FAQ
What does an inline USB-C power meter show?
An inline USB-C power meter shows voltage and amperage passing through the link, then displays calculated power in watts on models that provide it. The number describes the connected source, cable, and device together, rather than the maximum printed on just one component.
Many models also total capacity or energy over time, and some indicate the direction of charge flow. A simple meter answers whether power is present and how much is passing through, while an analyzer can add PD or cable information.
How do I read voltage, amperage, and watts on the display?
Read voltage as the negotiated electrical level, amperage as the amount flowing, and watts as voltage multiplied by amperage. A change in one value can change the wattage, so do not judge a charger from voltage alone or compare two readings taken with different cables and devices.
For example, a compatible PD setup may use a higher voltage with lower amperage, while another setup uses a lower voltage and more amperage. The meter helps show what that particular connection negotiated. It does not explain every policy or thermal limit inside the device.
Can a USB-C power meter test an E-marker cable?
Only a meter that explicitly supports E-marker reading can report a compatible cable’s marker information. KM003C, FNB-C2, and FNB58 publish that feature, whereas StarTech, Plugable, and Klein do not state it on their maker pages.
An E-marker readout can help identify what a cable declares, but it is not a substitute for an end-to-end data, continuity, or safety test. Choose an appropriate cable tester when the question is pin wiring or data-path integrity rather than charging information.
Bottom Line
The StarTech USBC-PWRTESTER is the most focused pick for a USB-C dock or display connection because its maker states data and Alt Mode pass-through alongside its 240 W range. The Plugable USBC-VAMETER3 is the easier high-power readout. The KM003C and FNB-C2 add PD and cable diagnostics. The FNB58 handles more connector types, and the Klein ET920 covers basic USB-A and USB-C monitoring.





